Shrimad Bhagavad Gita

The Bhagavad Gita is a 700-verse scripture that is part of the Hindu epic Mahabharata.

This scripture contains a conversation between Pandava prince Arjuna and his guide Lord Krishna on a variety of theological and philosophical issues.

Faced with a fratricidal war, a despondent Arjuna turns to his charioteer Krishna for counsel on the battlefield. Krishna, through the course of the Gita, imparts to Arjuna wisdom, the path to devotion, and the doctrine of selfless action. The Gita upholds the essence and the theological tradition of the Upanishads, while also integrating dualism and theism.

This page Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5
Shrimad Bhagavad Gita (Gujarati) Vol. 1
Artists: Pranav Vaccharajani and Hardik Trivedi

This volume contains the complete Gujarati narration of the first five chapters of the Bhagavad Gita.

Chapter One: Arjun-Vishada Yoga (46 verses) - Arjuna has requested Krishna to move his chariot between the two armies. His growing dejection is described as he fears losing friends and relatives as a consequence of war.

Chapter Two: Sankhya Yoga (72 verses) - After asking Krishna for help, Arjuna is instructed into various subjects such as, Karma yoga, Gyana yoga, Sankhya yoga, Buddhi yoga and the immortal nature of the soul. This chapter is often considered the summary of the entire Bhagavad Gita

Chapter Three: Karma Yoga (43 verses) - Krishna explains how performance of prescribed duties, but without attachment to results, is the appropriate course of action for Arjuna.

Chapter Four: Gyana-Karma-Sanyasa Yoga (42 verses) - Krishna reveals that he has lived through many births, always teaching yoga for the protection of the pious and the destruction of the impious and stresses the importance of accepting a guru.

Chapter Five: Karma-Sanyasa Yoga (29 verses) - Arjuna asks Krishna if it is better to forgo action or to act; Krishna answers that both are ways to the same goal, but that acting in Karma yoga is superior.

Gita (Gujarati) Chapters on YouTube:

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita (Gujarati) Vol. 2
Artists: Pranav Vaccharajani and Hardik Trivedi

This volume contains the complete Gujarati narration of the chapters six through eleven of the Bhagavad Gita.

Chapter Six: Atmasanyam Yoga (47 verses) - Krishna describes the Ashtanga yoga. He further elucidates the difficulties of the mind and the techniques by which mastery of the mind might be gained.

Chapter Seven: Gyana-Vigyana Yoga (30 verses) - Krishna describes the absolute reality and its illusory energy Maya.

Chapter Eight: Akshara--Brahma yoga (28 verses) - This chapter contains eschatology of the Bhagavad Gita. Importance of the last thought before death, differences between material and spiritual worlds, and light and dark paths that a soul takes after death are described

Chapter Nine: Raja-Vidya-Raja-Guhya Yoga (34 verses) - Krishna explains how His eternal energy pervades, creates, preserves, and destroys the entire universe.

Chapter Ten: Vibhuti-Vistara Yoga (42 verses) - Krishna is described as the ultimate cause of all material and spiritual existence. Arjuna accepts Krishna as the Supreme Being, quoting great sages who have also done so.

Chapter Eleven: Vishwaroopa Darshana Yoga (55 verses) - On Arjuna's request, Krishna displays his "universal form" (Visvarupa), a being facing every way and emitting the radiance of a thousand suns, containing all other beings and material in existence.

Gita (Gujarati) Chapters on YouTube:

Shrimad Bhagavad Gita (Gujarati) Vol. 3
Artists: Pranav Vaccharajani and Hardik Trivedi

This volume contains the complete Gujarati narration of the chapters twelve through eighteen of the Bhagavad Gita.

Chapter Twelve: Bhakti Yoga (20 verses) - In this chapter Krishna glorifies the path of devotion to God. Krishna describes the process of devotional service (Bhakti yoga). He also explains different forms of spiritual disciplines

Chapter Thirteen: Kshetra - Kshetragya Vibhaga yoga (35 verses) - The difference between transient perishable physical body and the immutable eternal soul is described. The difference between individual consciousness and universal consciousness is also made clear.

Chapter Fourteen: Gunatraya-Vibhaga Yoga (27 verses) - Krishna explains the three modes (gunas) of material nature pertaining to goodness, passion, and nescience. Their causes, characteristics, and influence on a living entity are also described.

Chapter Fifteen: Purushottama yoga (20 verses) - Krishna identifies the transcendental characteristics of God such as, omnipotence, omniscience, and omnipresence. Krishna also describes a symbolic tree (representing material existence), which has its roots in the heavens and its foliage on earth. Krishna explains that this tree should be felled with the "axe of detachment", after which one can go beyond to his supreme abode.

Chapter Sixteen: Daivasura--Sampad--Vibhaga Yoga (24 verses) - Krishna identifies the human traits of the divine and the demonic natures. He counsels that to attain the supreme destination one must give up lust, anger, greed, and discern between right and wrong action by discernment through Buddhi and evidence from the scriptures.

Chapter Seventeen: Shraddhatraya-Vibhaga Yoga (28 verses) - Krishna qualifies the three divisions of faith, thoughts, deeds, and even eating habits corresponding to the three modes (gunas).

Chapter Eighteen: Moksha--Sanyasa Yoga (78 verses) - In this chapter, the conclusions of previous seventeen chapters are summed up. Krishna asks Arjuna to abandon all forms of dharma and simply surrender unto him and describes this as the ultimate perfection of life.

Gita (Gujarati) Chapters on YouTube:

This page Page 2 Page 3 Page 4 Page 5